Picking up speed on the slippery slope of social media

It’s fun to slide down a slippery slope if you have a sledge or toboggan to sit on (or  a tea-tray perhaps).

I’ve sledging further down into the world of social media by creating a Twitter account. I hear cries of “Ooh-err, isn’t she brave?  Borrrring. Been there, done that”.

OK, OK, fair enough. It’s nothing special, but perhaps Phil Bradley will approve of this step. When Twitter first emerged I made sure I understood what it was all about, but I wasn’t going to sign up just for the sake of it, so what’s finally persuaded me? The reason is simple: Twitter is great place for hearing about what’s going on…fast and continually. It had reached the point where I felt as if I was at risk of being slightly left behind, missing out on a useful channel of information.

I don’t like that feeling, especially in my chosen profession: the information world. So that was enough. It will be interesting to see if it really makes a difference to my work over the coming months. Will it be disruptive? I very much doubt it. I expect it will simply give me that pleasant feeling of reassurance that I’m less likely to miss something significant. Ah, the fear of missing something, of being told second-hand, of not being among the first to know. Of becoming the “also-ran”.

Don’t panic, I tell myself. The days of the “scoop” are long gone.  Although speed alone can still sometimes be quite crucial: for me, the quick notification of a product innovation or company acquisition can be very valuable, but there should be more to it than that. I reckon the real value lies with the person who provides good analysis and intelligent comment, not he who heard it first.

 

 

This entry was posted in Big data, Featured sites, Information literacy, Psychology of search, Social networking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

