I look out through a Facebook window, but keep the window shut

I’ve read Phil Bradley’s recent blog post Personal reputation in a social media world. I came away feeling somewhat weighed down and pressured. Pressured that more and more of many people’s time (and very possibly mine) will be spent tacketing away at a screen, posting to Twitter, posting to Facebook, LinkedIn and so on.

The list of sites which we need to consider using has grown and is still growing and social media is hungry, it demands near constant feeding. But be careful what you post – people are assessing you as well as “following”.

This is proving disruptive indeed. Moreover – and it’s a topic for another post – but for the searcher, if social media sites are going to increasingly dominate search results, will it become harder to sort the inexpert-drivel from the expert-valuable?

Phil is steeped in the information world and writes a thought-provoking blog. He also clearly enjoys spending his time remotely communicating. Indeed he’s made it his job and he’s good at it. We need people like Phil who will do this…he spends time wallowing around social media so I don’t have to (so much). For that, many thanks.

But his posting does lean towards suggesting that we’re all gradually being sucked into following a social-media savvy path and if we don’t, we’re close to being losers. Sure, posting and tweeting is fun, in a way, and people get a buzz, along with a raised level of self-esteem, through admiring the number of Twitter followers and Facebook “friends” they have.

Phil admits “I’m more interested in knowing that a person is followed by a million others than I am by knowing that they work for a company that I don’t know anything about”.

Yikes, that makes a heck of a lot of people potentially “uninteresting”. Surely dangerously limiting – who’s going to be the real loser here? But Phil is making a valid point about visibility.  Social media, rather than expanding horizons, can make people blinkered.

He also notes “You can argue this isn’t fair, and I’ll agree with you”.

This puts me in a bad position as regards social media. I’m on LinkedIn and my blog posts link through, but I’m hardly a prolific blogger. When was your last post? Good grief – useless! Twitter? I love listening to birdsong. Facebook? I had an account for a while, I no longer have one (no couldn’t delete it, grrr, it’s dormant). My husband has a minimal account which we use to read news from those in the family who are more enthusiastic Facebook users and live at a distance.

In other words, I use Facebook as a window to look through, but I keep that window shut.

There are still jobs and careers out there that scarcely require any daily interaction with a computer, let alone social media – yeah, dry-stone walling for one (lovely website, irony, irony).

Why should I feel this way? Should I feel this way? The first question I can answer. The second: please let me know…Mr Bradley?

 

This entry was posted in About Google, Big data, Featured sites, Future views, Information literacy, People, Psychology of search, Social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I look out through a Facebook window, but keep the window shut

  1. jruiz23 says:

    …i agree with many of your points sarah…i use it to stay connected to jimmy n christopher…otherwise i’d be very distant n happier, i suppose…funny, but if you aren’t using it, everyone considers you to be technically inept and or clueless…the day will come soon where the acts of individuals will be the source of favorable sentiments or feelings rather than how many friends or blogs one received from yerstaday’s posting…strange place we call the “present,” isn’t it?!!! missing u, jimmy

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

